Thursday, March 18, 2010

IPL 2010 Mumbai Indians vs. Delhi Daredevils (Match 9) result.

Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Daredevils in their second match in this IPL by 98 run with the help of a brilliant knock by Sachin Tendulkar. The match was held at Feroz shah Kotla. Gautam Gambhir was not able to bat in the innings due to a hamstring injury.

After winning the toss, Delhi put Mumbai to bat first. They scored a mammoth score of 218 in their 20 overs with the loss of seven wickets due to some incredible batting performance by Sachin Tendulkar and Saurabh Tiwary. Mumbai Indians had a great start when Sachin and Jayasurya batted superbly. Sachin scored a blistering 63 of just 32 balls at a strike rate of nearly 200. In the end it was Tiwary who played some good shot and helped Mumbai Indians to past 200 run mark. There was nothing much to cheer for Delhi Daredevils except some brilliant bowling by Dirk Nannes at the end.

When Delhi came into bat, Virendar Sehwag and Tilakaratne Dilshan played at a good rate and 219 didn’t look a troublesome target. Both these openers added 38 runs for the opening wicket. But they were not able to continue it. Delhi really felt the need of their captain. They lost wickets at regular intervals. Maharoof and Dinesh Karthik tried to bring back the game but ended in vain. At they end they just managed to score 120 runs in 16.3 overs with the loss of 9 wickets. Some brilliant bowling by Dwayne Bravo too helped Mumbai Indians to mark their second consecutive victory in this season of IPL. At the end it was Sachin Tendulkar who was the star of Mumbai Indians victory and won the Man of the Match award.

• Mumbai Indians- 218/7 in 20 overs.
• Delhi Daredevils- 120/9 in 16.3 overs.
• Mumbai Indians won the match by 98 runs.

No comments: